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9)                    Dummy
Partner           Q872            You
6 led             (2 played)       AJ94
If partner's lead is fourth-best, then there are 5 cards higher than the
6 in the remaining Three hands. But we can see 6. So partner has not
led fouurth-best. What is going on? Either partner has led from a
3-card suit,  KT6, or he is leading from shortness. The auction may
tell us which.

             Dummy
Partner  Q872         You
KT6                        AJ94
            Declarer
             53
Or:
             Dummy
Partner  Q872           You
6                               AJ94
             Declarer
             KT53
In the first case we need to win the 9, and return the 4 (If we win the
Jack, the suit blocks). When Partner continues with the Ten, we have
the A-J  over  Dummy's Q-8. In the second case (assuming  a suit
contract) we can win the Ace and give partner a ruff.

Third-Hand High
Sometimes applying the Rule of 11 gives us very little information as
to the location of honors, or to the distribution. But knowing that
partner is leading from an honor will lead us to the right play. It is
usually right for Third-hand to play high when dummy has nothing
but small cards in the suit led.

10)                Dummy
Partner          964          You
5 led           (4 played)   A72

All the Rule of Eleven tells us is that, if partner has led fourth-best,
Declarer has two cards higher than the 5. Since Partner should not
have an honor sequence, he likely has 2 honors. Since we cannot see
the 3, Partner could be leading fourth-best from a 4- or 5-card suit;
he may even be leading lowest from a 3-card suit. What we do know
is that Partner and Declarer each have some honor holding in this
suit,  and  that  Partner's  honors  are  favorably  placed  behind
Declarer's honors. We should win the Ace. To play small is likely to
give Declarer an extra trick.
                  Dummy
Partner      964             You
KJ853                          A72
or QT85    Declarer
                  QT or KJ3
Partner's lead may not even be fourth best:

                 Dummy
Partner      964          You
KJ5                           A72
or QT5     Declarer
                  QT83 or KJ83

11)            Dummy
Partner       964         You
5 led          (4 played) K72
As in the previous example,  we rise with  the King. Perhaps the
situation is:
                Dummy
Partner     964          You
QT85                       K72
or QT5     Declarer
                 AJ3 or AJ53

Third-Hand Not-so-High

When Dummy has an honor, it is usually right to cover Dummy's
honor with a higher honor when it is played, or, if a small card is
played from Dummy, to save that higher honor to cover Dummy's
honor.

12)                Dummy
Partner         Q64           You
5 led           (4 played)    KJ2
This is pretty simple. We can play the Jack, and retain the King over
the Queen.

13)             Dummy
Partner       Q64          You
5 led          (4 played)   KT2
We don't have the Jack this time; but partner might. He has led low,
so he should have an honor; he must have the Ace and/or the Jack.
If we are defending a suit contract, we can assume partner has the
Jack. So playing the King would give Declarer two sure tricks in the
suit; playing the Ten might hold him to only one. It is right to play
the Ten.
               Dummy
Partner    Q64           You
J975                          KT2
   Declarer
                A83
Even against Notrump it is right to play the Ten. Partner could be
leading from the Jack, as above. If partner has led from Ace-Jack,
playing the King would give Declarer a trick he shouldn't get:
                Dummy
Partner      Q64         You
AJ75                         KT2
   Declarer
                983
If, against Notrump, partner has led from the Ace without
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Declarer must have the Jack, since Partner would have played the
Jack if he had the Queen-Jack. It is not safe to continue the suit
(unless Declarer started with Ace-Jack Doubleton). We may decide
it is better to switch; perhaps Partner can get in to lead this suit
through Declarer

Signaling
If the card led by Partner and/or the card played by Dummy are
higher than any cards we have in that suit, we cannot win the trick,
nor can we help promote a winner in that suit. This does not mean
we can be of no help to Partner;  the card  we play can send a
message - a "signal" to Partner. In general, when Partner leads a
suit, we should signal "attitude" (unless we are winning the trick
or  helping  promote  a  winner.)  The  play  of  a  high  card  is
"encouraging" - it  suggests we have some useful  holding in the
suit, or some reason to want the suit continued. The play of a low
card is "discouraging" - it suggests we have nothing useful in the
suit, that we would prefer that Partner switch to some other suit.

39)                   Dummy
Partner              A65              You
K led                                      J872
Partner is leading from King-Queen. If Declarer plays small from
Dummy, partner might switch to another suit, fearing declarer has
Jack-small-small.  Whether  Dummy plays  the  Ace  or  small,  we
would like him to continue the suit; we should play the Eight, the
highest card that we can afford.

40)            Dummy
Partner      A65          You
K led                         T72
This time we do not  want Partner  to continue the suit  if he is
missing the Jack. We should play the Deuce, warning Partner that
we  have  no  help  for  him  in  the  suit.  If  Partner  has
King-Queen-Jack, he can continue the suit anyway. Our signal is
not a command; it is only a message.

41)              Dummy
Partner       A65             You
4 led          (A played)     K82
With a useful card in the suit, we would like to encourage Partner
to continue the suit if he can get in. We should play the Eight.

42)              Dummy
Partner        Q65              You
4 led           (Q played)      J82
Whatever  holding Partner  has, the Jack is likely to be a helpful
card; we should play the Eight to encourage partner to continue
the suit, unless we have some reason to want a
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